Transmitting Harmful Materials to Minors

Transmitting "material that is harmful to minors" to a child under the age of 18 is a crime in Florida. The Florida legislature defined the term "material that is harmful to minors" as meaning any reproduction, imitation, characterization, description, exhibition, presentation, or representation, of whatever kind or form, depicting nudity, sexual conduct, or sexual excitement when it predominantly appeals to a prurient, shameful, or morbid interest; or is patently offensive to prevailing standards in the adult community as a whole with respect to what is suitable material or conduct for minors. The definition goes on to specify that it only applies to material that does not have any serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific value for minors. A violation of this law is a felony of the third degree. A conviction for this offense would carry a sentence of up to 5 years in prison, 5 years on probation, and up to a $5,000 fine.

If you or someone you know has been accused of transmitting material that is harmful to minors to a child under the age of 18, call the attorneys at Lindsey & Ferry, P.A. immediately. Our attorneys have the experience necessary to develop a robust defense against any charges.