Board-Certified Criminal Defense Representation In Central Florida

Florida’s fine structure for DUI offenses

by | Sep 1, 2017 | Drunk Driving Charges |

In Florida, a person who receives repeated drunk driving charges may face escalating fines and other punishments. No matter what the circumstances of your DUI charges, it is always wise to do everything you can to fight them. Even if you believe that the evidence against you is insurmountable, you may have more options than you realize. With the guidance of an experienced defense attorney, you can examine the circumstances surrounding your charges and determine a strong defense.

DUI offenses are generally broken down by the number of prior offenses on a defendant’s record and the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) indicated at the time of the arrest. For first-time offenders, with BAC’s between .08 and .15, the fines are between $500 and $1,000. For those above a BAC of .15, the fine is typically $1,000 to $2,000.

For second offenses, the fines range from $1,000 to $2,000 or $2,000 to $4,000, using the same qualifiers. For third offenses, the fines increase, ranging from $2,000 to $5,000 and no less than $4,000, respectively. For further subsequent convictions, fines must be at least $2,000 in all cases.

While these may seem like small slaps on the wrist, it does not take into consideration the other increases in expenses you may face, or other ancillary consequences. It is generally wise to do everything you can to fight drunk driving charges each and every time you receive them.

With proper defense by an experienced attorney, you can seek out all of your legal options and prepare a strong defense to keep your future as a driver secure.

Source: Lindsey & Ferry PA, “Drunk Driving Charges,” accessed Sep. 01, 2017