It’s very easy to find yourself on the wrong side of the law when it comes to firearms in the state of Florida. You are legally allowed to own a gun but you must follow the laws that are in place. If you break any of the gun laws in Florida, you could find yourself in quite a bit of trouble. You could face hefty fines, jail time or even limitations on owning a gun in the future.
There are two types of crimes in Florida that center around guns: gun or weapons enhancements and gun or weapons offenses. An enhancement occurs when a person was in possession of a gun or other weapon when he or she committed another crime. An offense occurs when a person was found to be in possession of a gun or other weapon. This also occurs when the firearm was purchased or used illegally.
The most common types of gun charges issued in the state of Florida include the following:
- Carrying a concealed gun without a license (3rd degree felony. No more than five years in prison, five years of probation and $5,000 in fines)
- Possessing a gun or discharging a gun at a school (3rd degree felony. No more than five years in prison, five years of probation and fines of $5,000)
- Providing access to a loaded firearm to a minor under the age of 16 (2nd degree misdemeanor. No more than 60 days in jail and fines of $500)
- Possessing a gun as a convicted felon (No more than 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation and fines of $10,000)
You need to be aware of the gun laws in Florida so you are not surprised if you are ever accused of breaking one of these laws. Hopefully, this post helps you understand the gun laws and the penalties associated with them.