The saying has always been that it is a right and not a privilege to drive not only in Florida but also across the country. Those who wish to drive must pass a driving test that is divided into two parts: a written test and a practical test. Drivers then have to obey all the rules of the road if they wish to keep their driver’s license in good standing. Here’s what happens if your license happens to get suspended in Orlando.
Suspensions of driver’s licenses can happen in various lengths. Some licenses can be suspended for a minimum of 30 days. Some can be suspended for 60 days. There are also 90-day license suspensions. Depending on the issue at hand, you could face the suspension of your license for anywhere from one to two years. You could also wind up having your license revoked completely. This typically happens to those who have multiple DUI offenses on their record.
When your license is suspended, you should never drive a vehicle, even if you need to drive it on your own personal property. You should adhere to the suspension. If you don’t, you could face further suspension time and hefty fines.
It is possible for you to obtain limited driving privileges while your license is suspended but the offense that led to the suspension cannot be related to driving while impaired. These limited privileges can only be acquired by petitioning the court in the jurisdiction where the license was suspended.
If you ever have your driver’s license suspended in Florida, the biggest thing you need to remember is to never get behind the wheel. This will only make matters worse for you.