Owning a firearm is a right in the United States. It is also a right that can easily be taken away if you use firearm illegally, even if it happened to be an accident. Today, we will explore the topic of accidental discharge of a firearm in Florida and how it can lead to criminal charges.
There are laws on the books in Florida that expressly prohibit the discharge of a firearm on a residential property. This includes discharging the firearm on your own personal property or any other property that has been zoned by the local government as use for residential living.
If you discharge your firearm on a residential property, even if it is accidental, you could face fines of no more than $1,000 and time in jail of no more than 12 months. It is charged as a misdemeanor offense.
It is very difficult to prove negligence or recklessness if you truly shot your firearm accidentally on a residential property, or any other property in Florida. Because of this, it might be hard for the court to move forward with any charges levied against you, especially if you and your attorney are able to provide evidence that it was an accident.
Even target shooting on or near a residential property is not permitted in Florida. If you willingly engage in target shooting knowing that it is against the law, you could be charged with a misdemeanor.
The accidental discharge of a firearm can lead to criminal weapons charges if you are not careful. Make sure you know the law in Florida so that you avoid these charges and can keep your firearm permit active.