Drunk driving is an all-too-common issue in Florida. In 2017, there were more than 43,800 tickets issued for driving under the influence (DUI) and more than 24,300 convictions for DUI, according to the Florida DMV. Those are some frightening numbers. If you received one of the more than 43,800 tickets given out then you will likely want to know the penalties you are facing.
If you are convicted of a second DUI in Florida the law mandates that you have an ignition interlock device installed in your car. It’s also possible for those convicted of DUI for a first time have the device installed. It all depends on the circumstances of the incident and the decision of the judge.
If you are under the age of 21 and stopped for DUI with a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher, you will automatically lose your driver’s license for at least six months. This is a zero tolerance policy enacted in Florida for drivers under 21.
If you are convicted of a DUI for the first time you will face the following penalties in Florida:
- 50 hours of community service
- Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000
- No more than one year of probation
- No more than six months in prison
- No less than 180 days of your license being revoked
- 12 hours in a DUI class
Being charged with DUI in Florida does not have to ruin your life. You can fight the charge with a variety of defenses, especially if it is your very first charge. Make sure you know the penalties so that they do not come as a surprise in the event you are convicted.