Board-Certified Criminal Defense Representation In Central Florida

First-time DUIs can lead to costly legal troubles

by | Mar 7, 2019 | Drunk Driving Charges |

Many things can lead to a person driving while they are intoxicated, but Florida law doesn’t have exceptions for the legal limit of .08 percent for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for people who are operating motor vehicles. Since 2004, this has been the limit, so most drivers are familiar with it already. What some might not know is that there is also another limit to know. You can face enhanced penalties if you have a BAC of .15 percent or higher.

There are many considerations that come into the picture in these cases. One of these is whether there was an accident due to the drunk driving. Another is if there is an underage passenger at the time the driver is stopped. The court will factor all of these in when trying to determine what penalties a person will receive.

A first DUI offense in this state is associated with fines as high as $1,000, but the actual costs are much higher. Court costs, attorney fees and other expenses can add up quickly to increase the financial impact of the case. There is also the possibility of a suspended driver’s license and a one-year probation term. Community service for at least 50 hours is also possible.

Because of the issues that come with a suspended driver’s license, some people seek a work permit or hardship license after the first 30 days of the suspension. This enables them to drive to and from work and to possibly do things like picking their kids up from school. It does come with very specific terms, so anyone who requests this should know those, so they can remain in compliance.

Knowing what is likely in your case might help you to determine what defense strategy to employ. This should be comprehensive and based on the circumstances of your case.