Board-Certified Criminal Defense Representation In Central Florida

Know the penalties for drunk driving in Florida

by | Nov 15, 2019 | Drunk Driving Charges |

The holiday season is here, which means that people will begin hosting parties to celebrate. If you are planning on having alcohol this season, make sure that you find a suitable way home. This might include a ride-share, a designated driver or public transportation. If you don’t find another option to get home, you might face criminal charges for drunk driving.

The penalties in Florida are serious for drunk driving. It is possible for you to face charges if you are an adult who is 21 or older with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage of .08 or above. The limit is lower for commercial drivers and those who are under the legal drinking age.

A person who is convicted of drunk driving faces a fine of $500 to $1,000 on a first conviction. They can also spend up to six months in jail. The penalties increase to $1,000 to $2,000 and up to nine months for a second conviction.

A person who is convicted of a second drunk driving charge will also have to pay for an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. This must remain in place for at least one year, and the person can’t drive a vehicle without one on it.

When a person faces a third charge for drunk driving within 10 years of the prior convictions, they are looking at a felony charge. The penalties for this are serious, and the person is considered a felon for life upon conviction.

Exploring the possible defense options for your case might help you decide how to handle the charge. Try to do this quickly, so you have time to consider them before beginning to plan the strategy.