Board-Certified Criminal Defense Representation In Central Florida

Lewd or Lascivious Battery

Florida law categorizes sexual activity with minors into several different laws. Sexual activity with a person less than 16 years old, but older than 12 years old, is criminalized under the lewd or lascivious statute. It also includes encouraging, enticing, or forcing someone in the same age group to have sexual activity. This law specifically states that not knowing the person’s age is not a defense to the crime. Even if the person lied about their age you can still be found guilty of lewd or lascivious battery. Likewise, mutual consent is also specifically excluded as a defense.

Lewd or lascivious battery is categorized as a second degree felony. A conviction can result in a sentence of up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation, and a $10,000 fine. A conviction also requires registration as a sexual offender in the sexual offender database.

If you or someone you know has been accused of lewd or lascivious battery, you need to retain experienced attorneys to defend you against the allegations. Our lawyers at Lindsey, Ferry & Parker, P.A. have experience defending against allegations of lewd or lascivious battery, and stand ready to engage in a vigorous defense of your case.